My Story

My brother wanted me to be self sufficient

20151130_151042

“I started working in 1994. I am an office cleaner. My brother got this job for me after my first marriage ended. He wanted me to be self sufficient and in his words “family members cannot give you everything you need. And someday we may get tired of giving you.” I was earning less than a thousand naira then. There are times I let my salary accumulate for three to four months before going to the bank to get it. Over the years, the salary has really improved. When I met my second husband, he wanted me to quit my job but I refused. He died in 2007. This job has greatly assisted me in raising my children. All my seven children are educated and my last child, a girl, is in secondary school.”

15 thoughts on “My brother wanted me to be self sufficient

  1. great to keep your job, even when remarried. Independence is such an important thing to have. And it teches your kids, too. How important it is, to earn a living. While it is hard at times, it is the only way to freedom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yet, by opposing Germany and denying it Westphalian parity, Britain made Germany hateful and paranoid, for Germans saw themselves being treated as an inferior in a world system in which it was not just formally an equal, but economically and militarily an equal. Thus the harder Britain worked to deny Germany equality, the less deserving of that equality Germany became.Substitute "China" for &q&yG;termanouquot; and "USA" for "Britain" and you have the problem of the next two decades in a nutshell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

