My Story

I am traditional birth attendant

?

I have been a traditional birth attendant for more than eight years. Before then, I sell cooking ingredients like locust beans, baobab leaves, cooking salt and chili powder inside my house. But what I made was never enough as I often have to dip into my capital. So I decided to become a traditional birth attendant. As a traditional birth attendant, after a woman puts to bed, I separate her baby from the placenta and bury the placenta. Finally, I bathe the mother and her baby with herbal water. And sometimes I am called back to bury the baby’s umbilical cord when it falls. I am given grains and paid two to five hundred for my services. I raised my children and assist my grandchildren from my earnings.

One thought on “I am traditional birth attendant

Leave a Reply

